Search This Blog

Loading...

Friday, 29 August 2014

Comicbook Facebook Group - Enter the Multiverse Event



If you have me as a friend on Facebook, the odds are you'll have heard about the first Event I've been setting up for my Comicbook Facebook Group - Enter the Comics Multiverse. Well, it's all sorted now and kicks off at 11am EST, 8am PST, 4pm GMT on Sunday Aug 31st.

Here's the schedule:


11AM EST/8AM PST/4PM GMT - SAM JOHNSON. I'll be opening the event and taking questions on comics writing and my books Geek-Girl, The Almighties and Cabra Cini: Voodoo Junkie Hitwoman.


12PM EST/9AM PST/5PM GMT - Guests will be joining me throughout the day and taking YOUR questions - kicking off with Brit SI SPENCER (Judge Dredd, Books of Magick, Hellblazer) - writer of the acclaimed new time-twisting murder mystery series, Bodies.


1PM EST/10AM PST/6PM GMT - JAMES HUDNALL (Alpha Flight, Harsh Realm, Strikeforce Morituri). The veteran creator will be taking questions on his illustrious career writing for Marvel, Image and Dark Horse, among others - and discussing his new series for Aces Weekly, Blue Cat.


2PM EST/11AM PST/7PM GMT - New Brit writer & artist team PATRICK SCATTERGOOD and DAN CHARNLEY have just released the first issue of their horror comic Flesh Tones - and they'll be discussing this, and taking your questions on getting started in comics.


3PM EST/12PM PST/8PM GMT - FABRICE SAPOLSKY is co-writer of Edge of the Spider-Verse #1 - which stars Spider-Man Noir and kicks off the upcoming major Spider-Man crossover event; featuring every incarnation of Spider-Man & Spider-Woman ever, including Miles Morales, Superior, and new alternate universe Spider-Woman, Gwen Stacey! Got questions about the Spider-Verse event? Ask Fabrice here!


4PM EST/1PM PST/9PM GMT - JOHN LEES is the creator/writer of hit new horror series And Then Emily Was Gone, as well as acclaimed super-hero series The Standard - which he worked on with my Almighties co-creator Mike Gagnon. John will be talking about his books and answering questions on how to have a hit title.

5PM EST/2PM PST/10PM GMT - I'll be bringing things home - taking any questions you have about the Comicbook Facebook Group, and anything else you want to ask about my own comics.


Throughout the day, the Event will crossover with my other Facebook Groups, Comic Book Share Group - where you'll be able to see more on our featured creators' books, and Free Comic Book Day Facebook Group - where you can find related Previews and Free Digital Comics - and we may have some more surprise guests, too.

So if you wanna get fully set for the Event on Sunday, join up to all three groups by clicking on the links below now! See you there. ;)

Comicbook Facebook Group
Comic Book Share Group
Free Comic Book Day

Thursday, 28 August 2014

The Almighties News

MS. F - a former downtrodden housewife with anger issues, MASON - a mercenary with psychotic tendencies, NITE FANG - a cocky British punk, MAXI-TRON an armored egomaniac, and... STEFANOS...a guy who runs a takeout.


The Almighties #1 has just hit Comixology and picked up this review at IGN: "For some this may be comedic gold while for others this could be seen as borderline offensive." For me, in my unbiased opinion, it's more of the former ;) but you can decide for yourself if you pick it up at Comixology here. :)

One of my favorite quotes on The Almighties - for Almighties Origins - is “Johnson and Gagnon are having a great time and a lot of fun making this comic and it really shows!” Blog the Blummin’ Doors Off. I can attest to this, and if you'd like to see whether the book's for you before taking the plunge into issue #1, the FREE Almighties Origins is still available, and you can get it at Drive-Thru Comics here. :)


This previews The Almighties #0, which comes out later this year, and while co-creator/co-writer Mike Gagnon, artist Eleonora Kortsarz and I are working on an Almighties mini-series, I'm currently looking into comics to potentially do a one-shot crossover book with, to follow The Almighties #0.

If you wanna keep up on Almighties News & Previews, you can find it all at our Facebook Group here. :)

Thursday, 21 August 2014

Comicbook Facebook Group



Those of you that have me as a Facebook friend may know that I'm quite involved in the Groups and Fanpages side of FB. As well as having groups/fanpages for my own comics, I run a Marvel NOW! Fanpage and am the Admin of the Free Comic Book Day FB Group, among others.


Another FB Group I'd taken over - that I'd never really done a lot with, it not having had a defined identity - started getting heat when I added a masthead featuring old and new Defenders. With the masthead size requirements meaning it had to be cropped, what I had visible were the more obscure characters - a lot of whom, myself included, many people wouldn't be familiar with. This was a conscious decision, as the image blurred the lines between Marvel and indy; and could easily have been mistaken as an amalgam of both.


This picture sparked membership interest in the group and I got the idea of developing it further... to build a group that crossed any perceived lines between the Big Two and independent publishers - not that this in itself was a new idea - but that also crossed over between other Facebook Groups...

That happens with the group's First Event on August 31st: Comicbook Facebook Group - Enter the Comics Multiverse! I'll be hosting this live at the Comicbook Facebook Group throughout the day - with a running thread in which peeps can ask me about my comics Geek-Girl, The Almighties and Cabra Cini: Voodoo Junkie Hitwoman; writing comics, the Comicbook Facebook Group, and anything else you like.


And while that's going on, we'll be spotlighting other comics and comic book universes - crossing over with my new Comic Book Share Group, where you'll be able to find out more about the featured books; and my Free Comic Book Day FB Group, where you'll be able to get related Previews and Free Digital Comics!


Other creators will also be stopping by to take YOUR questions, and I'm hoping the event will introduce you to new comic book universes, and have you checking out books that you wouldn't otherwise have known about - as well as bringing you News & Previews on those you're already familiar with.

You can Join up to the event at Facebook here - where more announcements will be made as we head towards it - and you can get prepped NOW by the joining the Comicbook Facebook Group, Comic Book Share Group, and Free Comicbook Day Group (where you'll already find a ton of free digital comics... :)

Tuesday, 12 August 2014

VALIANT DAY at my Free Comic Book Day Facebook Group



If you haven't jumped into the new Valiant Universe yet, this is your entry point; look for Free digital Valiant comics - including issue #1's - throughout today at the Group!

Thursday, 24 July 2014

Free Batman Comics Day



Batman is celebrating his 75th anniversary this year, and yesterday comic shops gave away free copies of a Special Edition of the second most important twenty-seventh issue of a comic ever, Detective Comics #27.

You can take a look at that, and get Batman: The Ten Cent Adventure, and Batman Black & White: A Black and White World - by the red hot creative team of Neil Gaiman and Simon Bisley - all FREE at my FCBD Facebook Group here!

Sunday, 20 July 2014

actualitypress.com

[UPDATED 7.25.14:]

My Actuality Press imprint is getting its own website - and we have The Almighties #1 coming to Comixology and a new book on the horizon, so I'm now going to be tying the site launch in with these.

Join the Facebook Event Page here for giveaways on the day, along with new Geek-Girl, Cabra Cini: Voodoo Junkie Hitwoman and The Almighties News & Previews!